Table of Contents

Recording Studios by State

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arizona Talking Book Library

CONTACT: Brian Blackwell (Studio Manager) | 602-255-5578 | bblackwell@azlibrary.gov
MISC NOTE: M,T,W,F 8 am - 5 pm; Th 8 am - 7:30 pm
SOFTWARE: Hindenburg
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 3/12/2017

Arkansas

California

NORTH: Braille & Talking Book Library, Sacramento

CONTACT: Mary Jane Kayes (Studio Coordinator) | 916-654-0640 | maryjanekayes@library.ca.gov
CONTACT: Christopher Duran (Audio/Visual Assistant) | 916-654-0640 | christopher.duran@library.ca.gov
SOFTWARE: “HABC, LCM, Sound Forge, EDAT, Zing“
MISC NOTE: Posts DBCs on BARD (Completed BARD Training Program for Local Library Submission)
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 3/21/2019

SOUTH: Braille Institute Library Services, Los Angeles

CONTACT: Ivan Johnson (Studio Coordinator) | 323-210-2610 | ivan@brailleinstitute.org
CONTACT: Chuck Petithomme (Studio Technician) | 323-210-2618 | chuck@brailleinstitute.org
SOFTWARE: “HABC, RX-5, Sound Forge, EDAT, Zing“
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 8/24/2017

Colorado

Colorado Talking Book Library

CONTACT: Tyler Kottmann (Studio Director) | 303-727-9277 | Kottmann_t@cde.state.co.us
MISC NOTE: M-F 8:00 – 5:00
SOFTWARE: “Currently transitioning from LCM to HABC for recording and DTB creation”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/4/2015

Connecticut

Connecticut Volunteer Services for the Blind and Handicapped, Inc. (CVSBH)

CONTACT: Gretchen Bishop (President @ CVSBH, Inc.) | 203-431-1381 | dutendat@aol.com
CONTACT: Kathy Hotchkiss (LBPH Coordinator for CVSB) | 860-721-2024 | kathy.hotchkiss@ct.gov
MISC NOTE: ”[CVSBH] is a private non-profit organization supporting the LBPH [with] 5 studios statewide.“
SOFTWARE: APH Studio Recorder and Book Wizard
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

Delaware

District of Columbia

D.C. Regional Library for the Blind & Physically Handicapped

CONTACT: Jean Yablon (Washington Volunteer Readers for the Blind) | 202-727-2142 | DCPL.SIRSI-LBPH@dc.gov
SOFTWARE: “uses LCM for recording and DTB creation…transitioning to HABC [Hindenburg] in the near future.”
# OF BOOTHS: 1
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/20/2015

Florida

Florida Bureau of Braille and Talking Book Library

CONTACT: Maureen Dorosinski | Maureen.dorosinski@dbs.fldoe.org

PHONE: (386) 239-6010 M-F 7AM-4PM

SOFTWARE: Sound Forge and Book Wizard

DATE UPDATED: 3/20/2019

Guam

Georgia

GLASS: Georgia Libraries for Accessible Statewide Services/Georgia Public Library Service

CONTACT: Lamar Robinson (Recording Studio Technician) | lrobinson@georgialibraries.org
PHONE: (404)657-1452 M-F 8AM-5PM
SOFTWARE: Hindenburg
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

Hawaii

Idaho

Idaho Commission for Libraries Talking Book Service (ID1A)

CONTACT: Sheila Winther (Studio Director and Volunteer Coordinator) | 208-639-4169 | sheila.winther@libraries.idaho.gov
MISC NOTE: “Full time, Mon-Thurs, 7:30am-6pm (MST) off Fridays.”
SOFTWARE: Using APH Studio Recorder and Book Wizard Producer as studio and book building software.
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/4/2015

Illinois

Illinois State Library Talking Book and Braille Service

CONTACT: Marcus Birch (Library Aid II) | 217-558-0145 | mbirch@ilsos.net
MISC NOTE: “M-F, 8am-4:30pm (CST), except for all state and federal holidays”
SOFTWARE: “Hindenburg's HABC for both recording and post-production.”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/10/2015

Indiana

Indiana Voices/Indiana State Library Studio

CONTACT: Linden Coffman (Director) | lcoffman@library.in.gov
MISC NOTE: (M-F: 8:00-3:30)
SOFTWARE: “Currently using Hindenburg”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 3/20/19

Iowa

Iowa Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped

CONTACT: Tim West (Digital Recording Specialist) | 515-281-1360 | tim.west@blind.state.ia.us
Mon-Thurs, 8:30 to 5:00 (CST) work from home on Friday.
CONTACT: Karen Schweitzer | 515-281-1241 | karen.schweitzer@blind.state.ia.us
Mon, Wed-Fri, 8:30 to 5:30 (CST) work from home on Tuesday.
MISC NOTE: “Most likely in the future when we upgrade software, we will go to Hindenburg Software.”
SOFTWARE: “We use Cubase to record/edit, and we use APH Studio Recorder and Book Wizard Producer to build books and magazines.”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/4/2015

Kansas

Kansas Regional Library

CONTACT: Amanda Diggs (Production Manager) | 620-341-6282 | amanda.diggs@ks.gov
MISC: FT - Monday - Friday , 8-5 (CST); Audio only; 1 Booth
SOFTWARE: Recording: APH Book Recorder; Editing: Sony Sound Forge; Final production: APH Book Wizard
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/11/2015

Kentucky

Kentucky Talking Book Library


CONTACT: Barbara Penegor (Branch Manager) | 502-564-1738 | Barbara.penegor@ky.gov
SOFTWARE:
MISC NOTE:
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 3/21/2019

Louisiana

Maine

Maine State Library - Library Services for the Blind and Physically Handicapped

CONTACT: Jeff Meiczinger | 207-287-4710 | jeffm@mestate.lib.me.us
MISC NOTE: ”[Jeff works] part-time Tuesday-Friday 7:45am-12:30pm“
SOFTWARE: “Using Dolphin Publisher but transitioning to APH Book Wizard Producer.”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/4/2015

Maryland

Maryland State Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped

CONTACT: Mary Ramos (Collection Development Librarian) | 410-230-2457 | mary.ramos@maryland.gov
CONTACT: Andrew Russell (Recording Studio Manager) | 410-230-2433 | andrew.russell@maryland.gov
SOFTWARE: Hindenburg ABC; iZotope
Booths: Two (2)
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 3/20/2019

Massachusetts

Perkins School For The Blind - Clive W. Lacy Recording Studio

CONTACT: Nancy Gahagan, Recording Studio Manager (617) 972-7362 Email: Nancy.Gahagan@Perkins.org
MISC NOTE: “The studio at the Perkins Library produces approximately 60 books a year. We have approximately 30 volunteers who are involved in both the narration and post-production of our books.”
SOFTWARE: We use Hindenburg ABC exclusively for both recording and post-production
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 3/21/19

Michigan

Braille and Talking Book Library (MI1A)

CONTACT: Betsie Branch (Reader Advisor and Recording Studio Coordinator) | 800-992-9012/517-373-0501 | branchb1@michigan.gov
MISC NOTE: Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm EST
SOFTWARE: Recording: Audacity. Editing: Audacity. DTB Production: Hindenburg.
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 10/19/2016

Minnesota

Minnesota State Services for the Blind (MN9)

CONTACT: Annette Toews, (Audio Services Supervisor / MLA Network Contact) 651-539-1420 | annette.toews@state.mn.us | David Andrews, (Chief Technology Officer) | 651-539-2294 | david.b.andrews@state.mn.us
MISC NOTE: We record approximately 1000 books per year, both for our Radio Reading Service and individual customers.
SOFTWARE: Books are recorded in the DAISY 2.02 format using proprietary software. Some books are converted to DAISY 3, using Hindenburg ABC and placed on BARD. We are likely to convert all our recording to Hindenburg in the near future.
RECORDING STATIONS: 20 booths and approximately 70 home recorders.
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 7/30/2018

Minnesota Braille and Talking Book Library (MN1A)

CONTACT: Etta Thornburg (Audio-Visual Education Specialist) | 507-384-6865 | etta.thornburg@state.mn.us
MISC NOTE: “We restarted our volunteer recording program in July 2016. We are recording new digital titles and digitizing our previously recorded cassette titles.”
SOFTWARE: Hindenburg HABC (3 seats); Sony Sound Forge; APH Book Wizard Producer; APH Studio Recorder
# OF BOOTHS: 1
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 8/24/2017

Mississippi

Mississippi Library For The Blind and Physically Handicapped

CONTACT: Shellie Zeigler (Regional Librarian) | 601-432-4123 | szeigler@mlc.lib.ms.us
MISC NOTE: ”(with help from Volunteer)“
SOFTWARE: “Sony Sound Forge and BWP (Looking into Hindenburg)“
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

Missouri

Wolfner Talking Book and Braille Library

CONTACT: Deborah Stroup (Coordinator of Volunteers/Studio Manager) | 573-522-2766 | deborah.stroup@sos.mo.gov
MISC NOTE: “Full-time Mon-Fri 8:00-5:00”
SOFTWARE: HABC [Hindenburg] ”(transitioned from LCM last summer)“
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

Montana

Montana Talking Book Library

CONTACT: Erin Harris () | 406-444-5398 | eharris@mt.gov
MISC NOTE: “M-F, 8am-5pm (MST), except for holidays”
SOFTWARE: “Montana has transitioned completely to Hindenburg's HABC from LCM for both recording and post-production.”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/4/2015

Nebraska

Nebraska Library Commission - Talking Book and Braille Service (NE1A)

CONTACT: Gabe Kramer (Studio Manager) | 402-471-3246 | gabe.kramer@nebraska.gov
8:00 to 5:00 M-F
CONTACT: Scott Scholz (director) | 402-471-6553 | scott.scholz@nebraska.gov
SOFTWARE: SoundForge for recording and postproduction, HABC for DTB markup
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/4/2015

Nevada

Nevada Talking Book Services

CONTACT: Connie Corley, Recording Coordinator (775-684-3380)
MISC NOTE: Available Monday-Friday after 9 a.m.
SOFTWARE: Adobe Audition 3.0 to record and review; [APH's] Book Wizard to produce
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 1/14/16

New Hampshire

New Jersey

Talking Book and Braille Center-AudioVision

CONTACT: Karen Carson (Volunteer Coordinator) | 800-792-8322 ext 806 | 609-406-7181 ext 806 | kcarson@njstatelib.org
CONTACT: John Hart (Engineer, Computer Systems and Digital Recording) | 800-792-8322 ext 812 | 609-406-7179 ext 812 | jhart@njstatelib.org
MISC NOTE: Mon-Fri: 7:30AM-3:30PM
SOFTWARE: Recording: Digital Audio Recorder | Editing: APH Studio Recorder (as required) | Markup and Production: APH Book Wizard Producer
# OF BOOTHS: 5 in-house recording booths
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 3/23/2015

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Carolina Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped

CONTACT: Margaret Evans (Studio Manager) | 919-715-6664 | margaret.evans@ncdcr.gov
Full-time 8-5 Monday-Friday
CONTACT: Craig Hayward (Studio Engineer) | 919-733-4376, ext. 129 | Craig.Hayward@ncdcr.gov
MISC NOTE: “North Carolina is in a transition period right now, as our recording studios are updated. The new studio equipment will have Hindenburg.” -Carl R. Keehn. 2 booths.
SOFTWARE: HABP [Hindenburg], Sound Forge
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

North Dakota

North Dakota State Library Talking Books

CONTACT: Chris Hagburg (Circulation and Recording Manager) | 701-328-1468 | chagburg@nd.gov
MISC NOTE: “Full time Mon-Fri 7:30-4:00” 1 booth
SOFTWARE: LCM, EDAT, Zing
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped

CONTACT: Jill Streck (Studio Director) | 405-521-3576 | jstreck@okdrs.gov
MISC NOTE: Transitioning to Hindenburg
SOFTWARE: Adobe Audition: Recording, post-production; LCM: Digital mark-up
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/11/2015

Oregon

Pennsylvania

LBPH Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh

CONTACT: Mark Sachon (Volunteer Coordinator) | 800-242-0586 / 412-687-2440 | sachonm@carnegielibrary.org
CONTACT: Mitchell Small (Manager, Computer Systems and Digital Recording) | 800-242-0586 / 412-687-2440 | smallm@carnegielibrary.org
MISC NOTE: Mon - Fri / 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
SOFTWARE: Recording: Digital Audio Recorder | Editing: Adobe Audition or APH Studio Recorder (as required) | Markup and Production: APH Book Wizard Producer
# OF BOOTHS: 2 in-house recording booths | 5 remote recording setups at 3 locations
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/20/2015

LBPH Free Library of Philadelphia - Philadelphia Recording Program

CONTACT: Anthony Bannister (Studio Manager) | 215-683-3213 | bannistera@freelibrary.org
SOFTWARE: “Moving to Hindenburg”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/4/2015

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Carolina State Library - Talking Book Services

CONTACT: Ron Whitten | rwhitten@statelibrary.sc.gov
SOFTWARE: Hindenburg
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

South Dakota

South Dakota State Library

CONTACT: Josh Easter (Equipment and Audio Production Manager) / 605-773-5082 / josh.easter@state.sd.us
SOFTWARE: APH Studo Recorder to record and edit and APH Book Wizard Producer to create the DBs.
MISC: 3 studios, plans to open 2 more
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 3/21/19

Tennessee

Texas

Texas Talking Book Program

CONTACT: SMiles Lewis (Audio Production Administrator/Studio Director) | 512-463-5546 | slewis@tsl.texas.gov
MISC NOTE: “Migrating to HABC for Nav-Markup / 3GP compression in near future”
SOFTWARE: APH Studio Recorder in Studio for recording; Sony Sound Forge for Post-Production Mastering; LCM for Navigational Markup & Compression to 3GP
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/4/2015

Utah

Vermont

Vermont Department of Libraries

CONTACT: Jennifer Hart (Interim Director) | 802-828-3273 | jennifer.hart@state.vt.us
MISC NOTE: “Vermont is in the very early stages of getting a local recording program in place.”
SOFTWARE: “Audacity to record and edit, and [APH] Book Wizard Producer to create the DBs.”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

Virginia

Washington

Washington Talking Book & Braille Library

CONTACT: John Pai (Audio Book Production Supervisor) | 206-615-0415 | john.pai@sos.wa.gov
MISC NOTE: ”[John] is typically available Monday-Friday, 8:30-5:00.”
SOFTWARE: Adobe Audition 3.0 to record and review; [APH's] Book Wizard to finalize and upload
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/10/2015

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Talking Book & Braille Library

CONTACT: Linda Vincent (WTBBL Regional Librarian) | 414-286-3010 | lvince@milwaukee.gov
CONTACT: Richard Robbins (Audio Coordinator @ Audio & Braille Literacy Enhancement (ABLE)) | 414-286-3480 | rrobbins@ablenow.org
MISC NOTE: “WTBBL (Wisconsin) contracts with Audio & Braille Literacy Enhancement (ABLE) for braille and audio recordings.”
SOFTWARE: “ABLE readers use Audacity. ABLE also uses Audacity for cleanup and editing and Book Wizard Producer for DTB creation.”
DATE NOTED/UPDATED: 2/5/2015

Wyoming

recording_studios_by_state.txt · Last modified: 2019/03/21 16:59 by ca1a
Recent changes RSS feed